Challenge workshop: Work for tomorrow – Innovating for an ageing workforce

Date: Thursday 24 June 2021
Time: 2.00pm – 4.00pm BST (3.00pm – 5.00pm CEST, 9.00am – 11.00am EDT)

Across the world, societies are ageing, and so are our workforces. Older workers make up a growing proportion of the workforce – across the G20, 1 in 3 workers is aged 50 and over, and this is set to increase to 4 in 10 by 2040. 

With an ageing workforce, we need to fundamentally rethink the way we work, learn and liveThis affects not only older workers, but the way in which we plan the future of work for young and old alike. 

We know that there are lots of opportunities that come from an ageing workforce. But we also know that employers and policymakers could be doing much more to tap into this potential and that too many people are being left behind. 

For this reason, ILC, supported by the Innovation Resource Center for HR, is launching an international competition – Work for tomorrow – to identify and award the most promising innovations responding to an ageing workforce across 4 categories: 

  • Maintaining good health 
  • Building knowledge, skills, and competence 
  • Addressing discrimination and supporting diversity 
  • Adapting the workplace 

Join us for this interactive workshop, where we will unpick some of the challenges and opportunities of an ageing workforcehow these trends intersect with changes in technology and AI; what we’ve learnt from COVID-19; and what the potential for innovation is in this space to ensure our workplaces and policies adapt in line with the changes happening around us. 

Find out more about our “Work for tomorrow” competition to be launched on 20 May 2021.